University of Azad
Jammu & Kashmir Jhelum Valley Campus



The University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir is a multi-campus and multi- discipline premier public sector university of AJ&K established in the year 1980. It consists of the main campus, based at Muzaffarabad (the capital of AJ&K) and four faculties
located at its two campuses. The main Campus is a spectral combination of the faculty of Sciences & Engineering, Health
& Medical Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. The Faculty of Sciences and Engineering includes the academic
departments of Botany, Bio Technology, Chemistry, Computer Sciences, Software Engineering, Electric Engineering,
Physics, Statistics, Mathematics, Zoology and the institute of Geology while the Kashmir Institute of Economics, Institute of
Kashmir Studies. Institute of Education; and the departments of English, Law, Education, Sociology & Rural Development,
Art & Design, Business Administration and Psychology form the humanities and social sciences group. Also located at the
The University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir (UAJ&K) main campus are an Information Resource Center (IRC), the Lincoln Corner and a high-tech Physics lab.

After experiencing the devastating earthquake of October 08, 2005 the UAJ&K was temporarily relocated at Islamabad for
a year which saved precious academic year of the students. In Dec 2006 the University was shifted back to its original location in Muzaffarabad AJ&K. With an HEC grant hostels for male, and female students and the faculty were built at
Muzaffarabad. The reconstruction of the University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir is the foremost challenge being faced. The
construction of the King Abdullah Campuses at Muzaffarabad is under way with the PC-I worth Rs 5.561 billion out of Saudi
Fund for Development (SFD).

The Neelum Campus of UAJ&K located at the district headquarter of Athmuqam was established in September 2013 by launching undergraduate degree programs in English, Computer Sciences and Information Technology therein. On August 01, 2015 the Jhelum Valley campus was established at Hattian Bala by offering undergraduate BS degree programs in the academic disciplines of English and Computer Sciences.