University of Azad
Jammu & Kashmir Jhelum Valley Campus

Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan President, Azad State of Jammu & Kashmir/Chancellor

The Message From Chancellor UAJK

The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (UAJK) is unique in the sense that it is a multi-campus and multi-discipline university. It was established in 1980 in Muzaffarabad, AJ&K. The UAJK is dedicated to quality education in arts, humanities, sciences, Health & Medical Sciences for advancement of knowledge to promote progress and prosperity of the region. The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir consists of three campuses: City campus, Chella campus and Neelum campus. City and Chella campuses are based at Muzaffarabad and Neelum Campus at Authmuqam.

The River Neelum divides the university campus into two part i.e. City and Chella Campuses. Both campuses are spectral combination of Science & Engineering, Health & Medical Sciences and Humanities. The science and engineering faculty includes Departments of Botany, Bio Technology, Chemistry, Computer Sciences and Information Technology, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics, Software Engineering, Zoology and the Institute of Geology. The Art faculty includes Kashmir Institute of Economics, Institute of Languages, Departments of English, Law, Education, Sociology & Rural Development, Art & Design, Urdu, Islamic Studies, Psychology while Anesthesia & Intensive Care Sciences, Cardiovascular Technology, Dialysis & Critical Care Sciences, Emergency & Intensive Care Sciences, Clinical Laboratory Sciences, Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Sciences, Diagnostic Radiology & Imaging Sciences, Surgical & Operation Theater Sciences, Vision Sciences, Nursing and Public Health make up the Health & Medical Sciences Faculty. Also located at Muzaffarabad is an information Resource Centre and Lincoln Corner. A centralized Hi-tech laboratory with state of the art equipments is utilized by various science departments of the university - a focal point of collaborative research.

Neelum Campus of UAJK was launched in September 2013 consisting of three departments: English, Geology and Computer Sciences & Information Technology. The UAJK is confident that the Neelum Valley, besides a tourist hub, will also become an educational centre. With the establishment of Neelum Campus, the people of the less developed areas like Neelum Valley will have an access to higher education facilities at their door steps. Neelum Campus will go a long way in improving and enhancing the standard of higher education in the area.

The university is just to take pride in the highly qualified and competent faculty through their teaching and research to impart high standard education and research to the students.